The ISDP now offers one visiting scholar grant award of up to $3,000.00 USD per year.  

This grant is made possible in part from the increased ISDP Sponsoring and Patron membership dues. 

The visiting scholar grant is intended to help defray the costs of tuition, travel and/or housing during a visiting observership of one month or more.  Applicants must be trainees or practitioners in dermatology or pathology who reside in a low or lower middle income country as classified by the World Bank list of economies. 

Additional criteria considered are the applicant's strong interest in the field of dermatopathology, and the anticipated positive impact from the applicant's learning experience on the field of dermatopathology in their country.

The 2021 Visiting Scholar Application is due by August 16, 2020 and can be downloaded here.

Below is the list of Visiting Scholar Grant Award recipients, sponsors and institutions.  Our thanks to each of them for their dedication to the field of dermatopathology, and for taking the knowledge gained from an ISDP meeting back to their home country to share with their colleagues.

Our sincere best wishes!

The Diana Baughman ISDP Visiting Scholar Grant Award Committee:

Tammie Ferringer, MD, Chair
Jacqueline Junkins-Hopkins, MD
M. Ramam, MD
Omar P. Sangüeza, MD



2020 Visiting Scholar 

Dr. Vaishali Masatkar
Ananta Institute of Medical Sciences and Research Centre

Rajasthan, India

Sponsor / Sponsoring Institution:
Prof. Omar Sangüeza, MD
Wake Forest School of Medicine
Winston Salem, North Carolina, USA


2019 Visiting Scholar 

Dr. Rajalakshmi Tirumalae, MD
St. John's Medical College
Department of Pathology
Bangalore, India

Sponsor / Sponsoring Institution:
Prof. Dieter Metze, MD
Klinik für Hautkrankheiten - Allgemeine Dermatologie und Venerologie
Münster, Germany